Monday, June 06, 2005

chapter 1

I flipped my hair over in the shower, trying to rinse the dye out from the underneath part of my head. I opened my eyes to see if the water was still tinted from the coloring, but a sharp pain in my left eye made me shut them immediately. Can you go blind from hair dye? I reached to the right, feeling around for my towel. My hand hit the rack finally, and I jerked the towel off the back of the door. I heard a swoosh of air, as the towel underneath it also came off the rack and started to fall towards the floor. Then the clink of metal hitting tile, and rolling in the direction of the sink. With my empty hand I shut off the water, then held the towel to my eyes for a few minutes, until I could open them without wincing again. I glanced to the right and scanned the tile floor. Nothing. Crap

"Pheobe?" I called, as I wrapped the towel around my hair and stepped out of the shower. I grapped my long blue silk robe from the towel rack and replaced it with the towel that had fallen on the floor. "Pheobe?" I called again, knotting the robe's sash around my waist.

"What?" came a voice from the other side of the wooden door, as she started to push it open.

"My ring fell under the sink." I explained sheepishly

"So?" she said, looking at me confused. It was like looking in a mirror, only the girl opposite me had dark chestnut colored hair. The exact color mine used to be, before I stared to bleach it. "Just reach under there and get it," she added, still staring at me.

I pictured myself easing my hand under the white wooden cabinet that fit below our sink and being bit by a rat. There were no rats of course, but maybe there was a spider. That's practically worse. "It's dusty under there and I just showered" I said, searching for an excuse that didn't make me sound like a total loser. My twin sister rolled her eyes then lowered to her stomach so she could see underneath the cabinet.

"How did this happen anyway?" she asked, her voice straining as she struggled to reach for the ring, which must have rolled farther than I thought. I was secretly glad it wasnt me feeling around blindly under there.

"I put it on the side of the bathtub while I was showering," I explained,"And when I reached for the towel, the other one fell and knocked the ring off the tub." She wasn't listening anymore though. I heard a clink, and knew she must have hit the ring. A moment later she pulled her arm out and sat back on her heels.

"Here," she said, reaching up and handing me the ring, "You're lucky I'm back home". Pheobe was a graduate student at the University of Maryland. She was only home today because we had to go to see the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra that night.

"Thanks," I said, and turned to the sink to rinse off the dust. I stared fixated at the ring as I held it under the lukewarm water. Everytime I turned it, one of the diamonds in the band caught the light and twinkled. The large diamond in the center was bigger than anything I had ever seen, except for the ones that I saw at the Smithsonian when I was younger. But this one was better. It was an exact replica of Britney Spears' engagement ring. I have a big addiction to celebrity gossip and everyone knows that, so as soon as I spotted this ring on the internet, I knew I had to have it. I slipped the ring onto my finger, then stuck my hand out in front of me to admire it. Pheobe just shook her head at me, then turned back out the door

After Pheobe left to go down the hall and get ready, I turned back to face the mirror and slowly began to unwind the towel from my head. My hair came tumbling town in a huge knotty mess resting on my shoulders. I sighed, picked up a comb, and started on the impossible task of combing it. Finally, everything was smooth again and I set the comb down to study my appearance in the mirror. There was no longer any evidence of the deep chesnut color I shared with my sister. Instead, it was now a light golden blonde, resting gently on my shoulders

It's practically guaranteed that when I tell people I have an identical twin, they will shriek and squeal something like, "That's so cool!" Well no, it's not really. In another family it might be, but not when you are a Rowland twin. Then it is purely exhausting.

My mother is Claire Beaumont, daughter of Henri Beaumont, former French Ambassador. They moved here from Versailles when my mother was only seven, so she spent practically her entire life attending fancy White House dinners and benefits. After a brief period in her teens in which she dated the president's son, my mother swears this was always just a publicity stunt, she suddenly became America's latest addiction. Her picture was always on the cover of People magazine and she even had a shoot for Cosmo. She was approached by several modeling companies, but my grandfather said he refused to have his daughter misrepresenting her country like that. So intead, she became an actress, filming a sictom in the city where she had to make the huge stretch of playing a french girl. She swore she was going to retire when she had my sister and I, but I think she missed it too much. Now she plays a lawyer on capital hill on a show cleverly titled "The District"

She met my father, Chris Rowland, when she was 19 and he came to the set of her show to film her for one of his classes. He was a broadcast journalism major at the University of Maryland, and was doing a documentary project on high profile children in the city. He's now an anchor for the top rated news team in DC, and seems to be interviewing people like the president all the time. They started dating soon afterward and were married a year later. My mom had my sister, February, and I when she was 21. Yes, you read that right. February. My name, naturally, is January. My father swears they had nice normal names picked out for us, Emma and Erin I think it was, but my mother changed her mind at the last minute. We were born a week early, me being first at 11:57 pm on January 31th. My sister was born 6 minutes later at 12:03 am on February 1st. So then, obviously not thinking clearly due to the pain and all the drugs, my mother thought it would be a fabulous idea to name us each after the month we were born in. I guess I should just be glad we werent born a week late. Then we would probably be named something rediculous like Love and Cupid.

You would think that being named February would be a huge curse for my sister, but no. Instead, she has gone by the name Pheobe since we were five and people started teasing us. Pheobe. How cute is that? Do you have and idea what name people take from January? It has to be the most boring name in the English language. They all call me Jan. Jan! Can you believe it? My sister gets a cute, unique nickname, and I get stuck with Jan. Jan was Marsha Brady's dorky little sister that no one liked because she was plain and whiny and just simply boring. Perhaps thats why I am the problem child of the family. I always feel like I need to do something completely stellar to avoid all association with my Jan Brady counterpart. My plans ususally end up backfiring though and I just end up in trouble. The last time I came home with a story like this my mom just laughed and told me I should write a book. Its true I guess, people couldn't make this stuff up if they tried. My dad just got a stern look on his face and told me I should try to be more like Pheobe. She never gets in trouble. She never even got a detention in High School. I had the record, getting three in one day.

Now if Pheobe and I were just twins, then there wouldn't be much of a problem. But given our parents' high profile careers combined with the fact that we are completely identical, the media has developed a facsination with us and we've turned into minor local celebrities. I swear its like we are the Paris and Nikki Hilton of the DC- metropolitan area. Minus the sex tapes of course. Any time we have to go to a benefit, or to the theatre, theres a full color layout in the Post the next day detailing everything that happened. That's why my dad is so strict about things. He's totally worried about us getting involved in some scandal and having the media pick it up, making him look bad. Actually thats not true. He's only worried about me making him look bad. Pheobe, of course, is perfect.

That night at the Symphony, she was completely impressed, making intelligent sounding comments at all the right moments about the blending of the strings section with the wind instruments and things like that. I just sat there bored, fidgeting with my ring, and of course dropped it during a flute solo. I swear, I just need to keep that thing on my finger. My father glared at me from the other end of the aisle, as he noticed a reporter opposite us scribbling in her notebook, trying to stiffle a giggle. See what I mean? I inched my foot forward to place it over the ring, and pull it back closer to my chair. It made a horrible screeching noise, and the white-haired woman in front of me whirled around in her seat to glare at me. Pheobe flashed her a dazzling smile from the seat to my left, and mouthed the word "Sorry" before reaching down and taking the ring off the floor. The lady smiled back, if you could even call it that, and turned back around. Pheobe's fake smile drained from her face and she put the ring in her black gucci clutch. I glared at her, annoyed, and she just rolled her eyes at me before turning her attention back to the musicians.

I pulled the sleeve of my jacket back on my wrist to look at my watch. 8:15. I sighed, a little too loudly apparently because the woman in front of us coughed and Pheobe nudged me with her elbow in the ribs.

"Ouch" I mouthed to her, massaging my ribs.

"Pay attention," she mouthed back, her eyes narrowing, as she jerked her head to the stage. I stuck my tongue out at her.

The next day, a picture of that fabulous scene was plasteredd on the front page of the Arts & Entertainment section of the Post with the caption "Creative stylings of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra are underappreciated by Jan and Pheobe Rowland". Great. Just stellar.

Chapter 2

"What on earth is this?" My father questioned, thrusting the Post in front of me as I sat down for breakfast. I'm pretty sure any other father would have sworn when they asked this, but my father never swears. I suppose it comes from not being able to on television. Never let the audiance see you are affected by a story or something. Oh, but he was definately affected by this one alright. "Well?" he asked again, shaking the paper.

It wasnt such a bad picture really. Of Pheobe at least. They had caught her just as she was starting to turn away from me, so she was sort of facing the photographer. A small, patient smile was playing at her lips and her hair was cascading gracefully over her shoulders and down her back. She had her hands folded neatly on her lap and her ankles crossed. It was actually quite a good picture of her. She looked like she could be a model

Then there was me. Even if I hadn't been sticking out my tounge, it still would have been horrible. My hair was looking frizzed (I really should go get it cut) , and it appeared there was a run in my stockings.

"Underappreciated?" shreiked Pheobe from over my shoulder as she caught glimpse of the caption. "But I loved it!" she added with a slight whine looking over at our father for comfort. He gave her a sympathetic shrug and she turned back to me. "Honestly Jan, can't you just act normal for two hours?" She demanded, more than a hint of annoyance clouding her voice.

"It was more than two hours," I started to protest, but the look from my mother shut me up quickly. Oh fine. I get it. I do feel bad too. Really I do. It's not like Pheobe should have gotten the negative label in the paper, but thats really not my fault. If she wants to be mad at anyone, it should be that reporter who apparently has nothing better to do than follow a couple twenty two year olds around to boring concerts. Thats the real problem here.

Pheobe left to drive back up to campus soon after breakfast. She didnt say anything else to me for the rest of the morning. How old are we now? Come to think of it though, my father wasnt exactly being very sociable either, and when my mother tried to make a joke of the situation, he snapped at her, then she went off on him in a stream of French. Yet they say I'm the one who doesnt know how to behave properly? Yes, I am well aware there is a difference in saying French swear words to your husband at home, as opposed to the reporter interviewing you at your graduation, but whats the point in being so fake for the paparazzi? Besides, I'm sure the reporter from Fox News hadn't the slighted idea what merde meant, and he certainly didn't include it in his broadcast, so really there was no damage done there.

The phone rang just then, interrupting my thoughts.

"Jan," my mother said, placing the reciever on the countertop, indicating it was for me

"Hello?" I said putting the phone to my ear

"Oh my God," shrieked the voice of Amber, my best friend, in my ear, causing me to wince slightly and pull my head away "You're in the Post again"

"Yea, I know. Fantastic, isnt it?" I added sarcastically

"Its great," she exclaimed, obviously not catching my tone, "Thats twice already this week". Damn. I forgot about about the museum opening. I looked bored in that one too

"Listen," Amber said, her voice calm and demanding suddenly, "Ford is having a party tonight. I told him we'd make an appearance"

"In Baltimore? But its so far," I protest. It wasnt really, but in all actuality, I just wasnt that interested. Ford was dull. We had all gone to high school together at Foxcroft Academy. We weren't very good friends then, but the two of went to Johns Hopkins together and somehow ended up actually getting along.

"We can stay there," she adds quickly, "They wont mind"

"No," I say stealing a glance at my father. He was still seated at the kitchen table shaking his head at the paper. "We have to come home"

"Ok," she said excitedly, "come over at 7"